Two steps forward, one back, four forward

It’s a never ending cycle it seems. But I have come to realize that even if you take steps back, you can move forward and it does not make you weak or less of a person. Having set backs is not a failure. We’re human, we make mistakes and poor decisions. The strength comes when you stand back up. When you realize where your life has taken a turn and deciding there to make a change. It can be drastic or something very simple. I have gone through many set backs and let me tell you I was very hard on myself about each and every one of them. It takes time and learning new skills to help you see the beauty in changes.  I recentally learned after my hospitalization, a simple concept that helps me get through self destructive thought sequences. Basically the idea is that with mental illness you have a right mind and an emotional mind. Your brain simply has two ways of thought processing. When in the right mind, reality is clear, you have hope and motivation, and you take criticism of yourself with an open mind. The emotional mind is when you’re brain is in a hard place and plays tricks on you. It makes you believe certain ideas about yourself that may not even be true. It’s a hard place to get out of but it is possible. I know that after learning about this, I know I say to myself “Is this a right or emotional thought.” If nothing else it makes me stop and ask myself if I’m being rational. A 5 second pause in my thought process is a major breakthrough and has allowed me to get through tough situations and mindsets. I’m not saying it will work for everything or everyone and it does take practice; but what can hurt to give it a try? Try once a day to catch your thoughts and contemplate if it’s right or emotional driving your brain.

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself, any direction you chose.”-Dr.Suess

Leave a Reply

