Behind Blue Eyes

So whether or not a song is about a certain theme, you can always connect to the words. Personally I take the lyrics of the song and fit them to my life. I realized this when Behind Blue Eyes by The Who came on my pandora station. The lyrics are powerful and I connect them with my struggle with depression and anxiety but also my anger towards my abuser.

No one knows what it’s like
To be the bad man     –  Feeling I get thinking of societies stigma. I go against the norm.
To be the sad man      – Utter sadness that fills most of my days.
Behind blue eyes
And no one knows
What it’s like to be hated       – May be in my head, but constantly think Im a disappointment 
To be fated to telling only lies  – “I’m fine.”  A lie I told myself for seven years.

But my dreams they aren’t as empty
As my conscience seems to be             – Sometimes feel like my mind is a separate entity in itself, therefore making my feel alienated from myself.
I have hours, only lonely

My love is vengeance       – I am a person with the biggest heart and yet it seems to have only hurt me and blow up in my face. It’s a price I pay.
That’s never free

No one knows what its like
To feel these feelings
Like i do, and i blame you!          – No one gets it. And I completely blame the “boy” who destructed my adolescence and stained my adulthood.

No one bites back as hard
On their anger                               – The amount of anger I carry is too much for any soul to take; so I hide it.
None of my pain and woe
Can show through                      – No one wants to hear about the negative. My feelings are ignored for a sense of comfort.

No one knows what its like
To be mistreated, to be defeated
Behind blue eyes
No one knows how to say
That they’re sorry and don’t worry
I’m not telling lies                              – Lost all faith in the word sorry and have no trust in humanity.

No one knows what its like
To be the bad man, to be the sad man
Behind blue eyes.

 

Thank you Pete Townshend, for having the courage to write without a veil.

Leave a Reply

